Southern Maine Planning and Development Commission (SMPDC) is a non-partisan council of governments serving thirty-nine member municipalities from Kittery, at the southern tip of York County, to Stoneham, at the edge of the White Mountain National Forest.

We cultivate thriving, sustainable communities and strengthens local governments by leading planning and economic development for 39 member towns in Southern Maine. The organization was founded in 1964 to provide technical expertise to municipalities in York, southern Oxford, and Cumberland Counties. SMPDC offers a coordinated effort for land use, smart growth, resource management, environmental sustainability, and transportation planning.


Land Use Planning 

Brownfields Redevelopment

Transportation Planning including the KACTS MPO

Sustainability and Resilience Programs

Cooperative Purchasing


Recent Updates & News


Upcoming Meetings & Webinars

Maine Planning Basics - Monthly Webinar Series

  • The Maine Planning Basics Webinar Series, co-initiated by DACF, Maine’s Regional Planning Organizations (RPOs), and the Maine Association of Planners, is intended for those new to the profession and those new to planning in Maine. 
  • Training sessions are scheduled for the first Friday of each month, for more information and to watch past webinars, visit the DACF webpage.

Economic Recovery Programs


  • The SMPDC Economic Recovery HUB is live! Click here to read more about the technical assistance, small business grants, and more resources available through the program. 
  • Visit our Economic Recovery Resources page for more SMPDC loan programs, local organizations, and other opportunities for recovery. 
    • SMPDC Business Loan Program
    • CDBG Microenterprise Grant Program
    • Links to SBA grants for venues, restaurants, and more

Documents and Reports

Click on a town in the map for more information
Stoneham Stow Lovell Sweden Fryeburg Denmark Brownfield Porter Hiram Baldwin Parsonsfield Cornish Limington Limerick Newfield Action Shapleigh Waterboro Hollis Buxton Lebanon Sanford Alfred Lyman Dayton Old Orchard Beach Saco Biddeford Arundel Kennebunkport Kennebunk Wells Ogunquit South Berwick North Berwick Berwick Eliot Kittery York